Gloucester 20 2021, 2022, 2023 & 2024



The Gloucester 20-mile road race is one of the most-established races on the Spring race calendar as it offers runners the opportunity to hone their preparations for the season's marathons.


The organisers are particularly proud of the fact that every last penny from the races' proceeds goes back into promoting grass roots athletics in Gloucester.


The event is usually run in March and in 2020 we successfully held the event 2 days before the first lockdown.  With COVID continuing into 2021 we were unable to hold the event in March and along with many events moved to the autumn (September 5th). 


The course we use is in the ever growing Hunts Grove area and due to road works is currently un-accessible. At such short notice we don't have time to replan the route and get all the permissions required.  We start organising the race up to a year before race date.  Because of this, and with great reluctance we are unfortunately postponing this year’s event to March 2023.


All athletes that are currently entered will automatically be deferred to this date.  With platform fees and credit card fees already spent and non refundable, we would hope you can and will take the option to defer, but because of the date change we will also offer a full refund, to those that request it.



Due to the continuing road infrastructure works on the Hunts Grove estate, we are regrettably unable to hold the event in 2023 or 2024.  We very much hope to be back in 2025.


For general and entry enquiries, email

Previous race stats

Gloucester 20 Records
Male Female
Race Records
1:44:07 - Simon Kinson (Leamington AC) 1996 2:00:09 - Karen McLeod (Edinburgh) 1991
Course Records
Waterwells / Haresfield course (2010 - 2018)
1:49:24 - Peter Freedman (Coventry Godiva) 2011 2:00:26 - Emma Stepto F40 (Cornwall AC) 2014
Frampton-on-Severn course (1999 - 2009)
1:49:43 - Neil Renault (Long Eaton RC) 2007 2:03:28 - Amy Chalk (Bristol AC) 2008
Brockworth / Churchdown course (1987 - 1998)
1:44:07 - Simon Kinson (Leamington AC) 1996 2:00:09 - Karen McLeod (Edinburgh) 1991